DOUBLE CHOCOLATE COOKIES WITH CINNAMON, CHILLI & GINGER

IMG_1801

There are loads of recipes over on Amanda’s blog that I have to try.  The diablo cookies in particular looked so good, and when I realised that we had some cinnamon chocolate hanging around, I couldn’t wait to give them a go.  My recipe is a bit of an adaptation – I didn’t have any chipotle or fresh ginger, so I flavoured the cookies with ground cinnamon, chilli flakes, and crystallised ginger (and used less sugar to allow for the sweetness that the ginger brings.)  I was low on oil so used butter instead, and the chocolate I had on hand was milk, not dark.  The good:  despite being a near novice in biscuits and the like, the recipe came together really easily, and although I made half, it still yielded twelve decent sized cookies.  The kitchen, in fact the entire flat, smelt incredible as they baked – as must have the pavement below our windows, as I heard a little kid saying ‘Daddy!  The grass smells like brownie cakes!’  The bad?  Well, I burnt a couple.  Yep.  Bad times.  More than a couple.  About half.  And the half that didn’t burn aren’t gooey inside, like they should be.  They’re closer to cakey, like a bad brownie.  Well, I’m being a little hard on myself – they taste delicious and are soft in the middle.  Just not gooey.  Next time I’ll be keeping an eagle eye on the oven and grabbing them the hell out of there at the first sign of cracked tops.  And I’ll be throwing some orange zest in the mix.  Can’t wait…

 

 

 

Ingredients (makes 12)

110g plain flour

75g cocoa powder (I use Green & Blacks)

1/2 tsp. bicarb

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. chilli flakes

50g chocolate, chopped into chunks

50g crystallised ginger, chopped

90g brown sugar

50g butter

1 egg

1 tsp. vanilla

 

 

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C.  Line a baking tray with foil or baking paper.

Over a low heat, melt the butter, then allow to cool.

Into a large bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa, bicarb and cinnamon, then stir through the chocolate, crystallised ginger and chilli flakes.

Lightly beat the egg in a small bowl, then add to a mixing bowl along with the sugar, melted butter and vanilla, and mix with a fork until combined.  Add this mixture, a little at a time, to the dry ingredients, using the fork to work it in.  When all of the wet mixture has been added, get your hands in there and bring the mix together to form a dough.

Split the dough in half, then form each half into six more or less evenly sized balls.  Arrange on the baking tray (remember to leave gaps in between) and flatten them down a little with the palm of your hand.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, depending on your oven (they’ll be ready once the top starts to crack.)

 

IMG_1780

IMG_1789

13 comments

  1. I bet they still tasted great! So glad you made these! I actually kind of love burnt cookies. My sister and I used to fight for the burnt ones as kids. I love your substitutions. It’s a versatile cookie. You’ve kind of inspired me to do them again today! So glad you liked them! Xo

    1. They really were good. We drink a lot of tea, and discovered that a slightly overcooked cookie is brilliant to dunk… Though I can’t imagine ever wanting to eat the burnt ones. They got binned without hesitation!

      1. Oh good! 😉

  2. Looks great, though a bit on the chunky side though. What I like about the recipe is the cocoa, a favorite of mine.

    Shakti

    1. Hi Shakti, you’re right, nothing slim about these! The cocoa flavour came through intensely – great with the chilli and ginger.

  3. Chilli and ginger in a cookie sound so interesting..I must try it once…:)

    1. I think it’s a great combination 🙂

  4. They look good, even if you burnt some! I saw these cookies at Amanda’s too and wanted to make them right away, but I held off until I could get more ingredients. You’ve got me thinking about the substitutions of crystal ginger and chili flakes. I always keep the burnt cookies and break them up and top vanilla ice cream with the bits of cookies. 🙂

    1. That’s a good idea v- I chucked them in the bin before even considering if there was a way of saving them… And they were really good! Will be making more before long… I think you will love them when you make your batch!

  5. Wow, sounds like an amazing combination. I’ll have to give these a shot!

  6. I like chilli in chocolates, so I can imagine that this would have tasted great!

  7. Hi Karinna, this recipe looks great! Love your creative use of the various spices, will have to try this one out sometime.

  8. Gorgeous flavours…

Leave a comment