RISOTTO WITH RED PESTO, SUNDRIED TOMATOES AND KALE

IMG_1840

I was emailing someone about risotto recipes recently (you know who you are if you’re reading this), and it got me craving a bowl of the good stuff. As I’ve mentioned before, I cook risottos pretty often.  They’re so versatile – I don’t think I could ever get bored of them.  This version works really well, with the sweetness of tomato balancing the iron-rich kale, and the heat of chilli dancing through the whole thing.  I used red kale here, but any kale would work, in fact, I think any greens would work.  Now I come to think of it, the first version of this I made was with leeks and thyme.  But red kale was what I had this time around, so that’s what I used, and it was delicious.  I swapped the thyme for Greek basil – similar to regular basil, but with smaller leaves that have a more peppery taste.

 

 

Ingredients

100g risotto rice

1 onion, diced

1 celery stick, diced

100g kale, stems diced and leaves shredded

50g sundried tomatoes, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

50g red pesto

20g parmesan, finely grated

About 700ml stock

1 tbsp. oil

Chilli flakes

Cracked black pepper

About 1 handful basil (torn if you’re using regular basil)

Sweet fresh tomatoes, to serve

 

 

Method

Begin by frying the onion, celery and diced kale stems over a medium heat, stirring to make sure it doesn’t catch on the bottom of the pan.  In a separate pan, heat your stock, then keep it on a simmer.

After the onion has started to soften and turn golden, add the rice.  Stir to coat it in the oil, then add a ladleful of stock to the pan.  Cook, stirring every now and then, until the rice has absorbed the stock.  Throw in the garlic, sundried tomatoes, pesto, and the shredded kale, stir through, then add another ladle of stock, stirring every now and then.  Repeat…  And repeat some more.

After about twenty minutes, the rice should be almost cooked.  Season with plenty of black pepper and chilli flakes to taste.  Stir through the grated parmesan.  Continue to cook until the rice has reached the consistency you like – in this recipe, I like it to be al dente.

Finally, stir through the basil immediately before serving.  Garnish with halved cherry tomatoes, if you like.

IMG_1834

IMG_1827

11 comments

  1. Seriously delicious!

    1. I knew you’d like the look of this Dimple 😉

  2. This is a really good combination for risotto. I’m a huge risotto eater too and I have never made it with sundried tomatoes. Funny I just read this. I woke up this morning thinking about risotto. I think I’ll have to pick up some kale and make some you recipe for dinner tonight. 🙂 Don’t you love your greek basil? I had one last season and I’m on the hunt for another one.

    1. Let me know if you try it! Yes, I’m a big fan of the Greek basil, those tiny leaves pack in such a lot of flavour…

  3. This looks so good. I really do love risotto. I can’t get enough of it. I can imagine the wonderful flavor the sundried tomatoes bring.

    1. Yep, savoury and sweet at the same time. Mmmm!

  4. Risotto is a great dish, though would you believe I never wanted to try it as a kid!? You don’t see a lot of red risottos (I have a great asparagus one that I love) but this sounds really flavorful and lovely! Sundried tomato pesto sounds great!

    1. I love asparagus risotto – made a lot of those last year. It was definitely packed full of flavour – just how I like it 🙂

  5. This risotto looks amazing! Love the flavours- so delicious! 🙂

Leave a Reply

