GLORIOUS GADO-GADO

IMG_6020
Gado-gado wasn’t really something that was on my culinary radar, until a couple of weeks ago when I was flicking through a charity shop find – Madhur Jaffrey’s Far Eastern Cookery, a book to accompany the ’80s TV series of the same name.  It was a bargain – priced at a mere quid – so I couldn’t really resist.  At that price, I thought, I could take it home, have a quick look through it that evening, and donate it back to the shop if it didn’t really do anything for me.  When I did look at it, I was pleasantly surprised, finding all sorts of interesting recipes.  It’s one of those books that’s great to flick through when you’re waiting for inspiration to strike. 

Back to the gado-gado.  Have you eaten it?  For the uninitiated, it’s an Indonesian dish, a sort of salad of various steamed veg, served with boiled eggs, a peanut sauce and ‘krupuk’ – crispy wafers.  As soon as I saw the recipe I had a memory of seeing something similar in Ottolenghi’s Plenty.  His peanut sauce is slightly different from Jaffrey’s – he uses a few more ingredients, one of them being coconut milk.  I improvised a version somewhere between the two, based on what ingredients I had to hand.  The sauce was good, and with all of the beautiful veg, made for a pretty amazing meal.  That said, it could’ve done with a bit more oomph – unusually for me, I played it safe and I don’t think I used enough chilli or garlic.  The other reason for less developed flavours was probably due to the fact that the peanut sauce is supposed to be cooked, and served warm.  For time constraint reasons, I just blitzed all of my sauce ingredients together. What I’m posting here is exactly what I did, but next time I’m going to try and perfect the sauce.   We didn’t have any crackers, but ate our veg and soft boiled eggs with a bit of sweet chilli sauce alongside the peanut sauce.  Despite the room for improvement, the whole thing was very enjoyable!

 

 

Ingredients

4 eggs

Mixed veg of your choice – we used:

new potatoes

beetroot

cucumber

purple sprouting broccoli

spring onions

romanesco

radishes

lettuce

 

For the sauce:

50g peanuts

2 tbsp. peanut butter

200ml coconut milk

1 clove garlic

1/2 small onion

1 tbsp. soft dark brown sugar

2 tbsp. soy

Juice of 1/2 lime

1/2 tsp. chilli flakes

A handful of fresh coriander, chopped

 

 

Method

Cut all of the vegetables into similar sized pieces.  Set aside the cucumber, lettuce and spring onions, then steam the rest to your desired level of cooking (I like my veggies to have a bit of bite in this type of dish!)

Hard or soft boil the eggs, according to preference.

Whilst the eggs are on the go, lightly toast the peanuts in a dry pan.   Blitz until coarsely ground, then set aside.  Blitz together the remaining ingredients until smooth, then mix through the peanuts and coriander.

Peel and slice the eggs, then put everything on the table and serve!

 

IMG_6023
IMG_6026

14 comments

  1. That peanut sauce looks amazing! Lovely 🙂

  2. Looks fantastic! When a gorgeous plate of veggies. The sauce sounds perfect to me.

    1. Thanks! It was a feast for the eyes.

  3. Looks yum! Here’s how i did my version: http://www.springtomorrow.com/2013/12/16/gado-gado-recipe/ 🙂 I love gado gado a lot because of the nutty sauce 🙂 plus it’s kinda healthy with so many different vegetables, lol

    1. The sauce with the vegetables is such a good combination! I’m heading over to have a look at yours now … 🙂

  4. Beautiful veg, lovely peanut butter sauce, sounds delicious, I must try! 🙂

    1. Thanks Yana, I hope you enjoy it!

  5. This looks amazing, Karinna! Love the recipe for peanut sauce. I NEED to make this. It’s so beautiful. What gorgeous presentation and I’m loving the romanesco. I had an Indonesian piano teacher growing up who introduced me to the cuisine and then I rediscovered it when I was traveling in Amsterdam for work. I was there for about 3 weeks and discovered the Dutch imperialist history through all of the Indonesian cuisine that I ate. So SO good. It’s actually one of the reasons I started the blog. Wonderful recipe!!! Thank you for sharing. And you gave me another reason to stop hesitating on Plenty and Plenty More.

    1. Thanks Amanda for the kind words, nice to see you leaving your mark around here 🙂 If I ever did an MA, I’d love to explore something to do with the connections between food and imperialism, or the cultural significance of food. Not entirely jolly, but fascinating nonetheless. I don’t really know much at all about Indonesian cooking, would like to find out more. Something to add to the long list!

  6. love this! What a great idea for a party. I need to look more into Indonesian cuisine…

    1. Thanks Mimi! Nice to see you here. It would be pretty perfect for a party table! And I too need to find out more about Indonesian cookery, definitely 🙂

  7. I have seen a few version of gado gado and it sounds so fresh & delicious! Going to definitely try it this summer. Thank you!

    1. You’re welcome! It was so good, we’ll definitely be having it again.

Leave a Reply

