SYRUPY BUTTERED PEARS

IMG_2824

The odd thing is that  it feels less than such to be writing a post after my extended pause from blogging.  I must be a creature of habit, because what began as a reaction to a particularly busy couple of weeks easily slipped into an extended sabbatical, with neither the lows nor the highs of the months that passed inspiring me to post.  It didn’t mean I stopped cooking, so to ease me back in, here’s one I made earlier: a pear dessert that came in to being during a weekend away self-catering in the countryside.  I love pears poached in wine – they have a special place in my heart (and when I say heart, I mean belly.)  But this slightly extravagant version is bliss – buttery, sticky sweet, alcohol infused fruit that melts in the mouth.  Happy days!

 

Ingredients

4 pears (I forget what variety I used, probably blush) peeled, halved and cored

2 tbsp. butter

2 tbsp. brown sugar

200ml dessert wine

1 tbsp. crystallised ginger, finely chopped

70-100g dark chocolate,

1 tbsp. flaked almonds

Zest of half a lemon

 

Method

Melt the butter in a pan big enough to hold all of the pears in a single layer.  Add the pears, and fry over a medium heat.  Pour over the dessert wine and turn the heat up to high to allow it to reduce with the butter into a syrup.  Add the ginger and sugar.  Flip the pears over, reduce heat, and simmer until soft.

Before serving, toast the almonds in a dry pan, and set up a bain marie to melt the chocolate.  Top the pears with the chocolate and nuts, and sprinkle with lemon zest.  We ate ours just like that, but I bet it would be even more delicious with some vanilla ice cream!

IMG_2830

9 comments

  1. Welcome back! Thanks for sharing. Beautiful as ever. What a wonderful poached pear. Chocolate and almonds too? You always have such great flavor combos.

    1. Thanks Amanda! I do like my decadent desserts…

  2. Nom,nom,nom.. guess pears is now on the shopping list for tomorrow 🙂

    1. I wish they could be on mine – laid up with bad tummy following our colds. Ewww! I’m watching old episodes of River Cottage pining for trees and tastiness! We will Skype soon….

  3. These look delicious, would love to have one for dessert right now 🙂

    1. They were pretty amazing 🙂

  4. afracooking · · Reply

    Pears and chocolate – what a perfect combination!

  5. Now that is what I call an entrance!! Love pears and ginger – chocolate makes it a holy trinity. Welcome back Karinna x

  6. Yey you’re back! Missed your posts. This looks delicious. Looking forward to sampling some of this cooking soon!! Hannah x

Leave a Reply

