RASPBERRY & BRIOCHE (BREAKFAST OR BRUNCH) BREAD & BUTTER PUDDING

IMG_2175

I’ve never really considered bread and butter pudding as being a suitable breakfast food, but if pancakes are acceptable every now and again, then, on closer inspection, I don’t see why this version of the pud shouldn’t feature on a weekend brunch table occasionally.  It’s actually surprisingly light and not overly sweet, using only a little butter, semi-skimmed milk rather than full fat (or even cream), minimal sugar, and plenty of raspberries.  The brioche is an indulgence, but one, I think, that makes it so brunch friendly.  Equally good either straight from the oven or cold the next day, it’s wonderful with some yoghurt and extra fresh fruit, and definitely puts you in good stead to tackle the day!

 

 

 

Ingredients

About 10 (medium sized) slices brioche, crusts left on

30g soft butter

30g golden caster sugar

2 eggs

500ml milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. mixed spice

100g raspberries

Zest of 1 orange

1 heaped tsp. soft dark brown sugar

15g flaked almonds

 

 

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C.

Butter the slices of bread, and cut in half.  Place a layer in on oven dish, sprinkle with about two thirds of the raspberries and orange zest.  Cover with the remaining bread, throw over the rest of the zest, and tuck in the raspberries.

In a mixing bowl or a large jug, beat together the eggs, milk, sugar, vanilla and mixed spice.  Pour this custard mix over the bread, then sprinkle with the dark brown sugar, finally, top with the flaked almonds.

Bake for about 30 – 40 minutes, until it is set in the middle, with a crisp, golden brown top, and delicious caramelisation around the edges.

IMG_2150

IMG_2181

 

19 comments

  1. Lovely recipe. I am a recent convert to the joys of bread & butter pud. Never thought to use it this way but I think it’s a great idea.

    1. It makes morning delightful 🙂

  2. Sounds like a wonderful idea to have bread pudding for breakfast. Lovely recipe!

    1. Thanks! I’m not a morning person, but teaming a relaxed awakening with a slice of this is about as good as it gets…

  3. Looks absolutely delightful! There is no reason why you can’t enjoy a pudding like this for breakfast every now and then. 🙂

    1. Yep, I’m a convert! And thanks!

  4. Mmmmm…..what a great way to start a day!!!

  5. These look delicious, Karinna 🙂

  6. ohlidia · · Reply

    I’m with you. Why not have this yumminess for breakfast? Gorgeous!

  7. Bread pudding for breakfast:) grt idea

  8. This looks great for when you want an impressive looking brunch without putting a ton of effort into it.

  9. Karinna – I have been thinking of you a lot recently, manly because I hadn’t seen any recent posts. Hope all is ok and you are just having a break and enjoying the summer x

    1. Hi Selma, thanks for thinking of me! Things haven’t been easy of late, although not so difficult that I haven’t been able to enjoy summer! And then combining underlying hardness of life with energies getting focussed into other areas too, and I suppose my blogging bug flew away! But it, and I, will be back 😉 How are things with you?

      1. Sorry to hear that things are difficult, Karinna. That is life – full of ups and downs. I hope that things have or will soon start looking up for you – life is too short to be unhappy for too long!! I have to say that I am a bit blogged out – but I think that is the heat which does not make me feel inclined to cook plus Jake has not been home much in the evenings and I find it difficult to cook for myself so not too much going on in my kitchen this summer! Weather has been amazing and I am not complaining at all!! Don’t stay off the grid too long, Lovely – missing your writing and recipes x

  10. This brioche pudding looks delish!

  11. afracooking · · Reply

    Oh wow – now that really is a breakfast for champions!

  12. I love bread-pudding on breakfast too!

Leave a Reply

