ROASTED POTATOES & PARSNIPS WITH LEMON & INDIAN SPICES

Spiced Potatoes & Parsnips

It’s been a hectic couple of weeks over here, and somewhere along the way, the sun has started coming out, the evenings have been staying lighter for longer, and bulbs have begun to bloom.  I do love this part of the season, the blink-and-you’ll-miss-it beginning – I just have to try and blink less…  Anyway, here’s a moreish recipe for days of little time.  I put it together to take to a bring a dish birthday tomorrow.  Although samosas were the actual item requested, I went for this – and I can report that I feel no guilt at going for a considerably lazier substitute.  Lazier it may be, but no less tasty: potatoes are a natural carrier of spicey flavours, and parsnips don’t fare too badly either.  Ok, maybe I feel a little guilty.  But B made brownies, too, so really, the birthday boy can’t have too many complaints…

I would’ve liked to have done a 50/50 ratio of veg, but this was what we happened to have.  Obviously, use whatever spices you happen to have or prefer!

 

Ingredients

1 kg good roasting potatoes, cut into bitesize pieces (I used Charlotte new potatoes)

500g parsnips, peeled and cut into bitesize pieces

About 10 large cloves of garlic, bashed a bit and peeled

2 tbsp. oil

50g butter, diced

Juice of 1/2 lemon

A few whole hot chillies, slit down the middle

1/2 tsp. turmeric

2 tsp. ground coriander

2 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1 tbsp. garam masala

1 tsp. smoked paprika

t tsp. fennel seeds

1 tsp. cumin seeds

1 tbsp. coriander seeds (crushed)

Salt & pepper

 

Method

Throw the veg, chillies and garlic into a large bowl.  Combine the, turmeric, coriander, ginger, cinnamon and two teaspoons of the garam masala, then add to the bowl with the veg. Pour over the oil, mix well, and let marinate for at least thirty minutes, before mixing again, spreading out evenly onto a large roasting pan, topping with the butter and seasoning.  Place into the middle of the oven preheated to 180°C.

After about twenty minutes, stir, the throw over the whole spices, the paprika, and the remaining garam masala.  Roast for a further 20 minutes or so until done. As soon as you remove from the oven, sprinkle over the lemon juice.  Try not to eat all at once!

Spiced Potatoes & Parsnips

Spiced Potatoes & Parsnips

16 comments

  1. These sound delicious – I love roasted parsnips!

    1. So do I, it’s a weakness of mine!

  2. Will have to try this, partly as I’m very definitely in spice mode, atm. Also, I never eat parsnips outside of wintry months. Better get ’em in, then!

  3. Love the lemon and spices in these. I’m sure the aroma is intoxicating! 🙂

    1. Yes, it filled the whole flat. Difficult to pack them away and not eat them… 😉

  4. Nice!!! Love the flavours :))

  5. Yum! Always looking for more ways to add some parsnips into dinner here!

  6. LOVE this recipe! Yum.. I love parsnips, and I love the lemon with the spices… Just wonderful..

  7. afracooking · · Reply

    I saw the title of this recipe and started to shake my head and quietly laugh at myself: why did I not think of this?! I love baked potatoes but sometimes I want something else….I so enjoy roast parsnips; but then only ever a few before the taste becomes to strong. And here is the solution staring me in the face: combine the two 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration!

    1. Ha! The lightbulb moment that you never had 😉 Glad to be of inspiration!

  8. Sounds so yummy – and nice and spicy! A=It is a delicious twist to regular oven-potatoes which I can’t wait to make this for my family. The boyfriend will adore this!

    1. Great! We’ve actually literally just made another batch about half an hour ago, they’re so good 🙂

  9. Ooo, so many good flavors going here. I am sure I would love these! 🙂

    1. Thanks! Made them like this a few times, each time with new potatoes, so good (but a bit dangerous to have hanging around, surprisingly easy to eat 1 kilo+ potatoes in one go with this recipe…)

Leave a Reply

