ORANGE AND CRANBERRY SCONES

Cranberry & Orange Scones

There used to be a café in town that did the most delicious scones.  I’m not sure how many cream teas we ate there over the past couple of years, whilst sat outside sunning ourselves and people watching.  Sadly, it closed a few months ago, and I don’t know of anywhere else local that even comes close to the scone perfection we used to enjoy.  It’s not that I’m a scone purist (as my recipe below shows.)  I just want three things – for my scones to be freshly baked, served with a homemade jam, and it just has to be clotted cream – none of this whipped cream nonsense.  So perhaps it’s time that I try and hone this formula myself.  B is very much the pastry and bread maker in this house, being very talented (and unafraid!) in those areas.  But I wanted to surprise her with these, so this is my first, and unaided, attempt!

I used a recipe from Delia, and then modified it by swapping the mixed fruit for cranberries and adding in the orange zest.  I resisted adding any spice (the inspiration for these was from some M&S cranberry-orange hot cross buns) but threw in a dash of vanilla.  I was really pleased with them as a first attempt – the only thing I’ll modify next time would be to add a tiny bit of extra moisture.  I just used the 3 tablespoons of milk called for in the recipe, and perhaps I should’ve added a little more when binding the dough.  So next time I’ll try that – or maybe I’ll get some extra liquid in there by soaking the cranberries in orange juice.  They’ll definitely be made again, though!

 

 

Ingredients

225g self raising flour, plus a little extra

40g golden caster sugar

75g soft butter

50g dried cranberries

Zest of 2 large oranges

1 large egg

3 tbsp. milk, plus a little extra

A dash of vanilla

A pinch of salt

 

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 220°C (I actually set mine to 200, as it’s extra hot.)

Sift the flour and salt into a large mixing bowl.  Cut the butter into small pieces, then rub in to the flour with your fingertips, until the mixture resembles rough breadcrumbs.

Beat together the egg and vanilla essence.  Add the cranberries, orange zest, egg and three tablespoons of milk to the flour mix.  Stir together with a knife, then use your hands to form the dough into a ball shape.  I think it was at this point that I should have added a little extra milk – the dough is supposed to be soft, but not sticky.  If you think you need more milk, do so one teaspoon at a time.

Turn the dough out onto a floured work surface.  Flour your rolling pin, then roll out the dough until it’s about 3cm high (mine ended up ended up being about 2.5cm – otherwise I would only have been able to make seven scones) then use a small pastry cutter, or, if you’re me, a glass, to shape your scones.  Delia says to make sure you don’t twist your cutter whilst doing this, otherwise you’ll end up with less scone shaped scones!

Dust the tops with flour (is this really necessary?) then gently place each scone onto a very lightly floured baking tray.  Bake near the top of the oven for about 12-15 minutes, until golden brown.  Delicious fresh from the oven, with butter and a drizzle of honey!

 

Cranberries & Orange Zest

Orange & Cranberry Scones

Orange & Cranberry Scones

Orange & Cranberry Scones

 

22 comments

  1. Cranberries and orange are a great combination. Looks great!

  2. Looks delicious! 🙂

  3. afracooking · · Reply

    I adore scones! Year ago I used the same delia recipe and although they were so-so I agree whole-heartedly with you that they need some tweaking. Last year I was introduced to a scone recipe from the states that I really enjoyed (its on my blog should you want to …..)

    1. Wow, just had a look, must have been such a pleasure to be fed those for breakfast! And I’m not surprised they were good what with the cream… Mmmm, cream…

  4. Hmmm, never tried orange and cranberry in a scone before…. might have to try these 😉

  5. Always sad when a favourite place closes but if that inspires and eggs you on to re-create what you liked there, then that’s one good thing to come of it! I watched Mary Berry (what an amazing lady) making tiny scones on BBC iPlayer the other day. She brushed the tops with milk rather than dusting with flour…

    1. And such a little lady too! She must practise series restraint what with all those tasty things she makes…

      1. I think she is one if those people who just cannot sit still or idle…not a problem I have!!

      2. Ha, yeah. I too am very practised in the art of a good sit down 😉

      3. With a cuppa and a scone!!!

  6. mmmm! These look delicious! I love the idea of combining orange and cranberries.

  7. When I first made my scones it was Delia’s online recipe that I looked at. That was for plain scones. No, it’s not necessary to flour the tops. What is imperative, not only in the advice you’ve noted about not twisting when cutting out, is to not touch the tops. If you do they won’t rise evenly. I also add cream of tartar to mine. Can’t remember the ratio right now. 🙂
    Must make them again! As they really are delicious little things.

    1. Thanks for the tip, I wondered why a couple were so wonky! They are lovely little things, and I imagine quite easy to throw together once you’ve got the knack…

  8. These actually look fabulous. I sorry about your favorite cafe. I hate when that happens. And clotted cream? Yum. Icannot wait to try this recipe. I love scones.

    1. Thanks! Yeah, such a shame when places close. Hard to make money out of that sort of thing though I guess, especially with much competition… I’ll be doubling up the recipe next time to make sixteen instead of eight… They don’t seem to last long!

  9. Lovely! Did she like them??

      1. Cool! How good does that feel hey??

  10. I’m glad I read this post before making breakfast! I think I know what I’m making!

    1. Ha, great! I hope you make them and love them!

  11. Cranberries and orange are the perfect combination and your scones look amazing.

Leave a Reply

