CARDAMOM, ALMOND & CHOCOLATE CAKE WITH A COFFEE DRIZZLE

IMG_4513

Regular visitors to this blog will know that I can’t get enough of cardamom.  I also drink a lot of coffee.  Throw them together and you’ve got something really special, particularly when you add chocolate into the  equation.  Browsing through Delia Smith’s website, we came across her coffee and cardamom cake with pistachios.  I liked the look of it, but don’t tend to make layered cakes, so instead used the recipe as a foundation to make something a little different.  The end result is, I think, just as good as the chocolate, coffee, and cardamom beetroot cake I made back in the spring, but it’s sweeter and best served (in my opinion) in small portions (although a little clotted cream, or vanilla ice cream wouldn’t go amiss.)  I’ve not made anything quite like this before, but it definitely makes me want to drench more things with coffee drizzle.  It actually makes me think of namora (a syrup soaked semolina cake) -but better!

 

 

Ingredients

For the cake:

60g SR flour

50g ground almonds

1 tsp. baking powder

Seeds from 15 cardamom pods

2 eggs

50g golden caster sugar

50g dark brown sugar

100g soft butter

1 tsp. almond extract

75g dark chocolate, chopped

 

For the drizzle:

100ml espresso

4 tbsp. dark brown sugar

Seeds from 10 cardamom pods

 

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 170°C.

Seperately grind both lots of cardamom seeds.  Set the smaller batch aside for now, then sift together the flour, baking powder, and remaining cardamom.  Beat the eggs and almond essence together with a fork, then add, along with the eggs, butter, and sugars, and beat together with an electric whisk until smooth.

Add the chopped chocolate and the ground almonds, and gently fold through.  Spoon into your cake tin (I used a silicone pan) and bake for about 30 minutes.

As soon as the cake is done, make the drizzle – bring the coffee, remaining cardamom, and four tablespoons of sugar to a boil.  Reduce the heat to medium, and continue to cook until it starts to thicken.  Remove from the heat.

With the cake still in the pan, poke it all over with a skewer or a knife, then evenly spoon over the drizzle.  Allow to cool completely before turning out of the pan.

 

IMG_4499

 

14 comments

  1. Chocolate cardamom – great combination!

    1. Yeah, I’m a little addicted!

  2. That sounds gorgeous – lovely flavour combination too Karinna. Oooh, I could really do with a slice just about now!

    1. Ha, so could I! We normally freeze about half of whatever cakes we make which is great when you get a craving and suddenly remember there’s some squirrelled away… But this one never made it that far!

  3. I love cardamom too! The cake sounds delicious.

    1. Thanks! 🙂

  4. What a beautiful cake. There’s an awesome Colombian cafe that I sneak into in the mornings when it rains on my way to work…I’ve written about it. They serve a cafe cardomomo, basically coffee with freshly ground cardamom. It’s so strong but i’m obsessed. I’ll shake for hours afterward, but I’m in LOVE with it! This cake is basically the essence of that, but with nuts and everything else that makes cake delicious. I’m right there with you! I love the way you eat.

    1. Nice. I like to brew my coffee with cardamom – didn’t realise it had Colombian roots! That sounds so good. We were in Lisbon last month where they drink espresso after espresso, so strong but smooth and delicious. I loved it. They bring it to you along with a minimum of two sachets of sugar on the plate, which I turned my nose up at mostly… But must admit to kind of getting into by the end of the stay. I miss it. Our coffee drinking culture is completely different over here. I’d love to try a shot of that cardomomo when hiding from the rain!

  5. I love cardamom too! Coffee and cakes also! 😀 Amazing cake!!!

    1. Thanks! I absolutely loved it 🙂

  6. chefceaser · · Reply

    Reblogged this on Chef Ceaser.

  7. I do not see often recipes that include cardamom and just today I baked cookies seasoned with cardamom and now I found your recipe…what a coincidence..:) Your cake looks great!

  8. This looks absolutely delicious!! I Adore cardamom sweets. I’m actually making cardamom ice cream right now 🙂

    1. I just followed your blog and am hoping that you’ll post that ice cream recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

