QEEMA MATAR (MINCE AND PEA CURRY)

IMG_0788

It’s odd how few Indian recipes I’ve posted on here since starting this blog back in September.  It wasn’t a conscious decision, it just kind of happened.  I still cook Indian food, just significantly less than I used to a year or so ago… And coming from someone who could happily eat curries every day of the week, that’s quite a change.  I suppose I’ve just been so focussed on trying new things and finding new go-to recipes (why hello, risotto…)

Well, anyway, here’s my 100th post, but my first curry post.  Qeema, kheema, keema – however you spell it, it means mince.  A semi-dry curry of mince might sound odd if you haven’t tried it, but it’s really quick to make and tastes great.  I make it slightly differently now than how I learnt from my Uncle, basically using more flavourings and slightly more tomato than is traditional.  I also add a couple of stems of limbro, or curry leaves.  It’s difficult to explain the taste, but, well… The clue is in the name.  Throw the stems in whole and they’ll impart an almost smoky, curried layer of flavour to your dish.  Once ready to serve, I tend to remove the stems but leave behind the leaves.  Limbro freezes really well, so if you’ve never used it before but like spiced food, why not pick up a bag and give it a go?

Go right ahead and play with the veggies that you put with your meat.  I always use peas, and like to add other green veg too, sometimes – broad beans work really well, as does broccoli.  Delicious, healthy and filling – and quick to prepare.  What more can you ask for…?!

 

 

Ingredients

200g lean mince (meat of your choice – I like beef or lamb)

1 tbsp. oil

1 large onion, diced

200g juicy fresh tomatoes (you could also use tinned), blended

2 tbsp. tomato puree

1 tsp. vegetable bouillon

1 tbsp. chopped garlic (about 4 cloves)

1 tbsp. chopped ginger

1 tbsp. chopped coriander stems, leaves chopped too and kept separate

2-4 hot chillies, left whole, but slit down the middle

2 stems of limbro

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. ground coriander

1/4 tsp. turmeric

1 tsp. garam masala

100g peas (I use frozen)

100g broccoli (optional), stems diced and tops cut into small florets

Juice of 1/2 small lemon

Black pepper

 

 

Method

Begin by putting the mince in a large dry pan.  Break it up with a wooden spoon whilst you brown it over a medium heat.  Once it has all turned brown, remove from the pan and set aside.

Next, add the oil to the pan, and fry the onion until golden and softened.  Add the broccoli stems and cook for a further couple of minutes.  Then, add the blended tomato, tomato puree, bouillon, garlic, ginger, coriander stems, chillies, limbro, ground cumin, ground coriander and turmeric, and plenty of black pepper.  Stir, add a splash of water, and cook for five minutes.

Return the meat to the pan, and add the broccoli florets.  Cook for a couple of minutes, before adding the peas and coriander leaves.  Simmer for a further two minutes.  Taste for seasoning, adjust if needed, then stir through the chopped coriander leaves, garam masala and lemon juice.  Remove the limbro stems before serving.  Enjoy with rice and/or chappatis.

IMG_0793

IMG_0790

11 comments

  1. This is lovely and simple. Thanks for sharing even if my mouth is now watering!

    1. Ha, so was mine as I was writing up the post! But I’ve got the left overs for lunch, lucky for me! And thanks 🙂

  2. Wow happy 100th post! I have just bought some mince so will be trying this. It’s just what I fancy in this rain… but I won’t moan or bore on about the weather. Wow 100 posts where does the time go?!! Congratulations 🙂

    1. The rain has hit my end of the country as I type, it looks pretty relentless 😦 & yeah, 100 posts, not sure how or when that happened 🙂

  3. 100 posts! Nice. This sounds great. I’ll have to go on a search for limbro. I love dinners like this. One skillet and a small pot of rice.

    1. Yeah, I had no idea I’d written that many! And yep, I’m with you, excellent simple weekday meal…

  4. We love keema mattar (a different anglicised spelling) as a serious non-tomatoey contender for cooking with mince. It’s good isn’t it?

    1. Yeah, it’s a big thumbs up in this house, too. We were talking the other day about how it would make a great filling for a spiced shepherd’s pie…

  5. I also could eat curry everyday but keep pushing to try out new stuff 🙂 Looks very tasty!

  6. Great blog Karinna. You have bought back the memories of my Mumbai Life. Qeema Pav (local white bread dinner rolls) with some red onion is as divine as you said can’t be described in words. I can eat this for breakfast, brunch, lunch, snack or dinner. Also Qeema Wraps in a Naan bread or Roomali Rotis are good options for in a busy life. But I love the Mumbai (Bombay’s local Pav). The way I devour this is by tearing the bread and stuffing the Qeema with sliced red onions and a squeeze of lemon wedge. Damn my mouth is watering now just imagining the whole site of Qeema Pav.

Leave a Reply

