ROASTED CAULIFLOWER SALAD WITH POMEGRANATE & PARSLEY

IMG_0452

Yesterday, I saw that Selma had posted a delicious looking salad recipe.  I didn’t have a pomegranate, but most other things were sitting in my kitchen, so it just had to be made.  We don’t tend to use maple syrup, but I could definitely factor a pomegranate in to our weekly shop.  Taken from Jerusalem, adapted slightly by Selma and then again by myself, this is a really tasty dish.  We ate it as a side, but I’d happily munch away at a whole bowlful.

Here’s my version – I only had a small cauliflower, so scale up if you like.  This made enough as a side dish for two people.

 

 

Ingredients

1 small cauliflower, florets and inner leaves only (about 250-300g)

2 stalks celery, chopped

1/4 large pomegranate (about 6-8 tbsp.)

2 tbsp. curly parsley, roughly torn

20g hazelnuts, halved

1 tbsp. rapeseed oil

A dash smoked paprika

1 tbsp. fennel seeds

1 tbsp. olive oil

1 tbsp. sherry vinegar

1 tbsp. pomegranate molasses

1 tsp. honey

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

Salt & pepper

 

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 180ºC.

Cut the cauliflower florets into bite size chunks.  Toss in one tablespoon of rapeseed oil, salt, pepper, a sprinkling of paprika and the fennel seeds until evenly coated (as much as possible.)  Throw into an oven dish, and roast for fifteen minutes.  After this time, check the cauliflower – it should be nicely browning around the edges.  Give it a good stir, then tuck the small cauliflower leaves on the base of the pan, and arrange the florets over them.  Cover loosely with foil and return to the oven for a further ten to fifteen minutes.

Next,  spread the hazelnuts out in another oven dish and put them in the oven to take on some colour (keep an eye on them to make sure they don’t burn.)

Meanwhile, make the dressing – in a small bowl whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, pomegranate molasses, honey, and cinnamon.

When the cauliflower is done, remove from the oven, along with the nuts (if you haven’t done so already.)  Still in the dish, drizzle the dressing over the cauliflower and toss to mix, then tip it all out onto your serving dish.  Sprinkle with the celery, parsley, pomegranate and hazelnuts.  Excellent eaten warm!

IMG_0457

15 comments

  1. Oh man!!!! Lovely!!!

    1. We loved it! Also plan on trying your marinated cauli & chickpea dish very soon…

      1. Cool, I hope you like it xx

  2. Karinna – I am so thrilled you gave this a go and love your adaptations – smoked paprika and fennel seeds is a combo I adore!! Thanks for the shout out too 🙂

  3. Lovely with pomegranate, but where can I find the pomegranate molasses? Interesting salad! 🙂

    1. Good question! We have a few Turkish shops around here which sell it, you should be able to get it in ‘ethnic’ supermarkets, possibly even in places like Sainsburys & Waitrose… Or online? Or else substitute for something like balsamic vinegar… 🙂

      1. Thanks for your help, I will try! 🙂

  4. What a beautiful salad… the colors are gorgeous…and the ingredients are wonderful! I will definitely be trying this…but wondering where to find pomegranate molasses…now that sounds intriguing!!. I’m heading to Amazon after I hit “post comment”!! 🙂

    1. Any luck? I love the stuff, was introduced to it a few years ago when I lived with a Turkish guy. It adds a whole different dimension to couscous and salads…

  5. What a delicious salad! I really have been looking to treat vegetables in a way a little more palatable than I have. I like to let them speak for themselves, but I usually don’t give them the care they need to make them the star. They’re usually the side show to a wonderful protein. This is exactly the sort of thing I’ve been looking for. I’m going to try this salad!

    1. Hey Amanda, thanks! I guess because we don’t tend to eat animal protein with every meal then it’s become more normal to treat our veggies with luuuuuurve. Especially as it starts to get warmer and the salad cravings begin…

  6. Wow this is such a colourful tasty looking salad! I love vegetables like this 🙂

    1. Yeah, I’d definitely recommend it!

  7. Looks fantastic! I love pretty much anything with pomegranate

Leave a Reply

