RHUBARB, PLUM & CARDAMOM CRUMBLE

Rhubarb, Plum & Cardamom Crumble

B suggested, a while ago, that we make a crumble involving rhubarb, plums and cardamom.  There was no consideration needed on my part, just a day with time enough to do it.  The humble crumble is one of my favourite puddings, but let me get one thing straight:  when I say ‘humble’, I do not mean ‘bog-standard’.  I can’t be doing with overly sweet crumbles, to me, they should be a combination of sweet topping and slightly tart fruit.  When I was a kid, the actual crumble part of the dessert was where I focussed my eating energies, but now, older, not necessarily wiser, but definitely more conscious of that old dictum, ‘a moment on the lips, a lifetime on the hips’ – now a crumble for me should be a celebration of the fruit.

And so, the way we make crumbles is with a smattering, a scattering of topping, strewn over a thick layer of luscious fruit.  Generally spiced, but not generally spiced with cardamom.  However the cardamom here – the most predominant of the flavourings – works wonders, taking the pud to a whole new level.  I’m not sure that I can call this crumble humble.

 

 

 

Ingredients

 

For the fruit:

 

6 plums, stones removed, some halved, some quartered (don’t worry if they’re hard – the cooking will soften them up beautifully)

300g rhubarb, chopped into about 2cm long pieces

50g Demerara sugar

Juice of one orange

2 small cinnamon sticks

4 cloves

10 large green cardamom pods, bashed a little with a pestle & mortar

 

 

For the topping (double up if you want a thicker layer):

 

60g plain flour

50g chilled butter

20g ground almonds

40g golden caster sugar

15 almonds, roughly sliced

10g sunflower seeds

1 tbsp. oats

 

 

 

Method

For this crumble, you’ll need to cook the fruit in advance along with the whole spices.  Leaving the fruit to sit after cooking, for a few hours or longer, will allow the flavours to develop and you’ll end up with a spicier tasting crumble – I let the fruit sit for about six hours.

Preheat the oven to 170ºC.

Arrange the fruit in an oven dish, tucking the whole spices in among the pieces.  Sprinkle over the sugar, followed by the orange juice.  Cover lightly with foil, then bake in the middle of the oven for about twenty minutes.  After this time, check if the fruit is tender, if so, remove, if not, bake for a further 5-10 minutes.  You want the fruit to soften, but to still hold its shape.

When done, remove from the oven, and let cool, still covered.

Next, you can make the topping.  Sift the flour into a large bowl, then add the sugar and stir through.  Next, cut the butter into small cubes and add to the bowl.  Rub in, using your fingertips, until the mixture resembles coarse breadcrumbs.  Stir through the remaining ingredients.

Remove the whole spices from the fruit, then gently stir the fruit a little to make sure its syrupy juices are evenly spread out.  Sprinkle the crumble mixture over the top of the fruit, then bake for 20-25 minutes until golden brown and crispy on top.

Delicious served with saffron and rosemary ice cream!

Rhubarb, Plum & Cardamom Crumble

Rhubarb, Plum & Cardamom Crumble

Rhubarb, Plum & Cardamom Crumble

 

20 comments

  1. Oh my gosh this looks so delicious. Delicious and beautiful. And those dishes… I LOVE them.. 🙂 bookmarking this!!

  2. I loved the idea of this crumble the moment you mentioned it – and it looks fantastic! These are some of my favorite ingredients.

  3. Yummmmmm! This looks sooo tasty!

  4. This looks and sounds devine! 🙂

  5. Oh my – this is super lush!! Great use of cardamom too. And saffron and rosemary ice cream – heaven on a plate!

  6. Ooh, nice! I like the almonds, seeds and oats in the topping x

  7. Looks so good – living the plums!

  8. I like crumble so much. Rhubarb and orange with cardamom. I am digging your flavor palette.

  9. Yummy crumble AND yummy icecream!

  10. This crumble sounds and looks delicious!

  11. It looks so good to eat, delicious! 🙂

    1. Thankyou 🙂 We definitely enjoyed it!

  12. You made this look absolutely amazing!

  13. Delicious. Just made a rhubarb crumble last night! I plan on post it…it has strawberries too. Love the idea of cardamom. Takes it to a “special” level. 🙂

    1. Nice! I made a dessert with rhubarb & strawberries yesterday (it’s sitting in the fridge right now, I’m waiting to this evening to see if it worked!) but the strawberries don’t feature too heavily. Would like to see your crumble!

  14. Just gorgeous. I love cardamom in all sweets! 🙂

    1. Me too, can’t get enough of it 🙂

  15. Karina…I keep forgetting to buy rhubarb…every time i see your posts i really really crave it. I must not forget next time for sure x

Leave a Reply

