FRUITY RHUBARB & RASPBERRY FLAPJACKS

Rhubarb & Raspberry Flapjacks

It’s been a while since I’ve made flapjacks, and these were a reminder of just how good they can be when you’re in the mood for something sweet.  I doubled up the quantities that I usually would use as some of these were being spirited away, and I very nearly messed them up by forgetting to use twice the amount of oats, but thankfully noticed at the very last minute!  Glad I did, because these are very delicious – moist, sweet, buttery and fruity.  What’s not to like?!

 

Ingredients (makes 12)

About 200g raw rhubarb, chopped into small pieces

A handful of frozen raspberries

200g butter

200g golden caster sugar

180g golden syrup

400g oats

A pinch of salt

1 tsp. ground ginger

A dash of vanilla

 

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 180ºC.  In a mixing bowl, stir together the oats and ground ginger.

Over a low heat, melt the butter, sugar, and golden syrup, stirring every so often.  Once dissolved, add the vanilla, then pour the mixture over the oats and mix well.

Line a large baking dish with baking paper (make sure to leave enough hanging out around the edges so that you can lift it out easily once cooked), then spoon in two thirds of the flapjack mixture.  Compact down with the back of your spoon, then throw over the rhubarb and  frozen raspberries.  Evenly sprinkle over the remaining mixture.  Don’t worry too much if it’s not enough to completely cover the fruit – I like to see bits and pieces poking through.  Gently compact down (I found it easier to use the palms of my hands this time.)

Bake for about 30 minutes, until the flapjacks have turned golden brown all over and are crisp around the edges.  Remove from the oven, then use a skewer to poke holes all over to allow the steam out.  Leave to cool in the pan for about fifteen minutes, then use a decent knife to cut into slices.  Gently lift the baking paper out of the dish and carefully transfer each flapjack bar to a wire rack.  The flapjacks will probably be pretty gooey at this stage, but will firm up after an hour or so.

 
Rhubarb & Raspberry Flapjacks

Rhubarb & Raspberry Flapjacks

19 comments

  1. Those pictures make these look so delicious! Yuuuuummmmm

    1. Yeah, they’re goooood!

  2. These look fab – I must give them a try this week – need to take something for the WI table (local library re-opening to great fanfare) and these could be the ticket!

    1. I hope you like them! Needless to say, use very fresh rhubarb… 🙂

  3. Rhubarb + flapjacks Yum!!

    1. I know, I can’t get enough of rhubarb at the moment, planning to have it over my porridge tomorrow!

  4. Lovely rhubarb! My outdoor plant is nearly ready to pick and my husband loves flapjacks. Will have to give this a go!

    1. Jealous that you have your own rhubarb! Hope your husband likes these…

  5. Rhubarb still hasn’t made it to the shops here! What’s going on?! And I would love to try this combination, as I’ve made one component using frozen forest fruits for a flapjack I was developing last summer. Ouch, still haven’t finished it. Hopefully I’ve made notes. 🙂

    1. I would love to see your version, so you’d best crack on: get on to the local newspaper and advertise the scandal of the lack of rhubarb, get on to your MP, start petitions, boycott the supermarket, take someone, anyone, hostage… Just don’t tire yourself out too much, because you’ll then have to get baking and posting 😉

  6. Hannah Rundle · · Reply

    As the lucky person these were spirited away to I can confirm these were amazing. So moist and definitely moreish! Love the blog as well. Thank you, Hannah 🙂

    1. Thanks Hannah! And you’re very welcome. Although I’m concerned that a certain small person outdid me in the baking stakes with her creative use of hundreds & thousands and her already confident flour sifting technique… 😉 All of you take care and look forward to seeing you next time 🙂

  7. Ooh yum. Is rhubarb currently in season?

  8. Yummm. Rhubarb bars are one of my favorite things ever, and the rhubarb + raspberry combination cannot be beat! (Later in summer, rhubarb is also surprisingly good paired with peaches—I’ve posted a recipe similar to this but with peaches instead of raspberries!)

    1. Have never thought of pairing rhubarb with peaches, what a great idea! I’ll keep that in mind for the summer months (am about to go and have a look at your post…)

  9. They were great! And yep, it is in season, British grown. Forced rhubarb (the thinner, bright pink stems) starts in January, then the outdoor grown stuff comes in early summer, I think… Do you eat it? I also posted a recipe on here for roasted rhubarb, which is probably my favourite way of having it…

Leave a Reply

