CELERIAC, FENNEL, CARROT & LENTIL SALAD WITH HAZELNUTS & HERBS

Celeriac & Lentil Salad with Herbs
This is a slightly adapted version of Ottolenghi’s celeriac and lentil salad from his vegetable cookbook, Plenty. I was given this beautiful book at Christmas, and this is the first recipe I’ve tried. To mine, I added carrots and extra herbs, and swapped the hazelnut oil (I didn’t have any) for some good quality olive (I use a little less than his recipe calls for.) I also had a craving for some caramelised fennel, so threw that in, too. The end result was delicious – the nuttiness of the lentils, celeriac and toasted nuts cut through with the vinegar and all brightened up with the freshness of the herbs. The veg I added gave a welcome sweetness and something extra to chew on. Success!

 

Ingredients

100g uncooked puy lentils

1 small celeriac

2 small carrots

1/2 large fennel bulb

30g whole, skin on hazelnuts

1 bay leaf

3 sprigs thyme

2 tbsp. chopped mint

2 tbsp. chopped basil

2 tbsp. chopped fennel

Good quality red wine vinegar

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

 

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 180°C.

Peel the carrots and chop into bitesize pieces, then do the same with the celeriac. Toss in oil & salt and pepper, then arrange evenly on a baking tray and roast until just soft.

Meanwhile, put the lentils in a saucepan with the thyme and the bay leaf. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat and simmer for about twenty minutes, or according to the packet instructions. They’re good when they’re softened but still with a little bit of bite.

While the lentils are on, slice the fennel into rounds – well, imperfect rounds, I guess (if you don’t trim the base of completely the ’rounds’ don’t fall apart), and fry in a pan with a little oil and one tablespoon of the red wine vinegar until softened and beginning to caramelise (turn halfway through.)

In another pan, toast the nuts until they start to take on some flavour.

When the lentils are done, drain, then throw them in a mixing bowl along with three tablespoons of olive oil, two tablespoons of the red wine vinegar, two thirds of the herbs, and a generous amount of seasoning. Mix well, then add the veg. Transfer to a serving bowl whilst still warm, and sprinkle over the nuts and remaining herbs.

 

Celeriac & Lentil Salad

18 comments

  1. Lovely blog..
    🙂

  2. Celeriac, fennel and walnuts are some if my favourite ingredients especially at this time of year. Yum!

    1. I normally find myself cooking with big, punchy flavours, but it was so good to reign it in a little and just work on accentuating a few key ingredients. I’m a fairly recent celeriac convert – previously only used it in soups – but I’m definitely going to be branching out, I really like it!

  3. Gorgeous. I want this book. I have Jerusalem and it changed the way I look at food. Plenty must be just as wonderful if this dish reflects anything. Well done!

    1. Thanks Amanda! Plenty is just wonderful, some really inspiring recipes in there. Have watched a series or two of his, and I love his manner – comes across so warm and genuine, a pleasure to watch. Will be seeking out Jerusalem soon, no doubt!

      1. I totally agree with you about him. I’ve said in a post before that these guys (tamimi too) are the kind of guys that restore the joy in life. They love cooking and they share that warmth with everyone they come into contact with.

  4. Looks like something that would disappear off our table real fast. I had to check out the book since I’ve not heard of it and wow there’s some great stuff in there! Thank you for sharing 🙂

    1. My pleasure! 🙂

  5. You read my mind! I bought French lentils yesterday on a whim and was thinking of a great dish to make with them. I confess I was leaning towards bacon, but this looks so much healthier!

    1. Yeah – it felt really clean, but was also satisfying with all of the veg & nuts – will be making it again soon!

  6. Please may I come for tea? 😉

    1. Ha, maybe next time 😉

  7. What lovely flavour combinations.
    I’ve never tried an Ottolenghi recipe, but I really should. Everyone is raving about him!

    1. Yeah – I love his use of flavours 🙂

  8. afracooking · · Reply

    I love this Ottolenghi recipe (actually posted it on my blog) Love the additions you made!

    1. Thanks! I saw your post. Isn’t it amazing how such simple flavours can have such an impact! He really has some lovely recipes…

Leave a Reply

