CRUNCHY GRANOLA

IMG_9211

From time to time, I get a craving for granola, but the stuff I find in the shops isn’t usually to my taste – it tends to be a bit oversweet for my breakfast needs.  Homemade granola is pretty simple and can be tailored to your own tastes, which makes breakfast all the more satisfying!  And, because I was fortunate enough to have most of the ingredients in the cupboard, I didn’t have to add the £4 or however much to our weekly shop for a less tasty pre-packaged version.  Score!

Because the orange flavour comes through so well in this recipe, I didn’t add any dried fruit, but go ahead and throw some in if you like – just remember to stir it through right at the end, rather than baking it with the oat mixture, otherwise it might burn.  This recipe yielded 450g of granola.

 

Ingredients

100g golden syrup

100g honey

15g butter

Finely grated zest, and juice, of 1 small orange, in separate bowls (I actually used a large tangerine)

200g oats

50g almonds

50g pistachios

50g pumpkin seeds

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon ground ginger

Pinch of salt

10g Demerara sugar

 

Method

Preheat the oven to 170ºC.  Line a baking tray with baking parchment.

Over a low heat, melt the honey, golden syrup and butter.

Meanwhile, roughly chop the nuts, and put them in a large mixing bowl along with the oats and pumpkin seeds.  Add the spices, salt and the orange zest, then stir well (or use your hands) to combine everything.

When the honey and syrup has all melted, add the orange juice and mix in.  Then, pour the mixture over the oat and nut mix and stir through until everything is evenly coated.

Spread the mixture out onto the baking tray, using up all of the space.  Bake in the middle of the oven for ten minutes.

After ten minutes, remove from the oven and gently turn the mix.  Return to the oven for a further ten minutes.

Remove again, and do the same.  Remember to be gentle at this stage, so that any clumps that are forming don’t break up (I find it easiest to use a fork or palette knife to do this.)  Then, sprinkle the sugar over the top.

Return to the oven once more for a final ten minutes (no longer) then take it out and allow to cool on the tray, before decanting into jars.  I like to eat my granola the obvious way – with milk, but more often than not I sprinkle a little over yoghurt.  It’s also great for adding a little texture to porridge (think of it as a garnish) and I bet it would be a great addition to some chewy flapjacks (I’m aware that may be a controversial suggestion!)

Crunchy Granola

5 comments

  1. I need to make my own granola recipe and this is just perfect with all the ingredients I enjoy x

    1. It’s really tasty 🙂 Enjoy!

  2. I can’t eat the shop bought stuff either, it’s soooo sweet 😁 this looks great, thank you x

  3. Great recipe. I think it’s good to have a go-to granola recipe and then make variations on the theme. This looks so great. I like the pumpkin seeds and ground ginger!

    1. Thanks! I’m addicted to the orangey aspect of this, makes me think of warmer climes!

Leave a Reply

