BUTTERED QUINCE & HONEY FLAPJACKS

Buttered Quince & Honey Flapjacks

I made flapjacks for the first time a few days ago, and I’ve already made more.  The first batch were a definite success, but I was trying to recreate the flavour of the flapjacks sold in a local coffee shop, so with this second lot I tried to be a little more creative.  Again, I wanted something fruity, and this time I decided to go for quince.  Quince is a recent addition to my kitchen – I cooked with it for the first time when making this tagine https://cheesybiscuit.wordpress.com/2013/11/30/50-minute-duck-tagine-with-kumquat-quince-with-cauliflower-couscous/,  and I feel like it’s been gently wooing me ever since.  Fragrant, with a pleasant bite (and simply the happiest looking thing your fruit bowl has ever been acquainted with.)  I would normally turn my nose up at a honey flapjack, preferring the nostalgic taste of golden syrup, but quince seems a natural friend to honey.  I added a little bit of lemon zest just to boost the fruitiness factor, a touch of ground ginger to add depth, substituted some of the oats for ground almonds to shift the texture, and… Wow!  Somewhere between a flapjack and a cake, crisp on the outside, with perfectly soft, melt-in-the-mouth, almost caramelised fruit on top.  Damn good!

 

Ingredients (makes 6)

1 large quince

30g, plus 80g butter

130g runny honey (nothing to dark or heavy tasting)

30g Demerara sugar

150g oats

50g ground almonds

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

Zest of 1 small lemon

 

Method

Begin by preparing the quince – peel, slice in half lengthways, then in to semi circles, before removing the core.  Gently melt the 30g of butter in a large frying pan, then add the pieces of quince.  Cook slowly, turning every 10 minutes or so, until soft (about 30 minutes.)

Meanwhile, pre-heat the oven to 180ºC.  In a mixing bowl, stir together the oats, ground almonds, and ginger.

Over a low heat, melt the butter, sugar, and honey.  Once it’s all dissolved, pour the mixture over the oats, then stir well until all mixed.

I used a silicone muffin pan, so there was no need to grease.  Arrange quince pieces into each muffin case, sprinkle with lemon zest, then spoon on the flapjack mix, compacting down with the spoon.

Bake for  about 20 minutes, until the flapjacks have turned golden brown and are beginning to go crisp around the edges.  Make sure to check them after 15 or 20 minutes, as mine were just about to catch around the edges – a little greaseproof paper on the top at that point will soon sort that out.  Let them cool for at least fifteen minutes before turning out (but try and manage to eat one whilst still warm!)

Buttered Quince & Honey Flapjacks

11 comments

  1. Another fab batch of flapjacks!!!! 👍

  2. Oh, another quince recipe to add to the collection! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Looks gorgeous. Where do you get the quinces from?

    1. Thanks! Do you know what, I’d never noticed them up until the autumn, but I’m suddenly seeing them in the grocers everywhere. They must’ve been there every year, just without really hitting my radar. I’m lucky in that there’s a good amount of Turkish and similar grocers close to me that sell slightly more unusual produce than we see in the supermarkets and so on…

      1. Thanks! Must keep my eyes peeled when I go by the Mediterranean grocers…there is just so much to take in though!

  4. Those looks absolutely delicious!!!

  5. You had me at quince.

  6. These look fabulous. I was first introduced to quinces in Lithuania but have been unable to find them since. Such a unique and delicious flavor – I very much miss it.

    1. Thanks! And yes, quince is such a distinctive (yet subtle) flavour… I’ve become quite the addict!

  7. tanaseaurica · · Reply

    wowwww..how fluffy, creamy and very delicious they’re look, amazing and make’s you eat fast and with pleasure..;)

Leave a Reply

